Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Bear Food

It was a blustery day and both the hubs and I are laid up with colds, so it wasn't a very inspiring day blip-wise. The good news, for those of you keeping score, is that I am officially even in the Raccoon War. I brought the feeders in last night and left the back flood lights on and it seems to have done the trick. The deck looked this morning as I'd left it last night, all pots upright and no little foot prints.

I pottered around the yard for awhile today and got off a decent shot of one of the nuthatches but didn't feel that it was what I wanted to blip today. So, instead, here is an acorn that fell from one of the massive oak trees at the back of our property, at the edge of the woods. These are one of the favored fall meals of black bears as they try to increase their calories and fatten up for winter hibernation. I was happy to see quite a few nuts on the ground as we've been told that the wild nuts were going to be scarce this fall owing to all the flooding we've had. Scarce nuts mean foraging bears, which is really never a good thing.

Hoping for some better weather tomorrow and more inspiration ... Happy Saturday night (or Sunday morning, depending on where you are.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.