Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Red Beauty

Thanks for the nice comments on yesterday's not terribly inspired blip!

You can about imagine my delight when I pulled into the driveway of my inlaw's house and saw 2 cardinals flitting around on the tree next to the driveway. I leaned out the car window and fired off several shots before they flew to a tree on the other side of the driveway ... where they were joined by several more cardinals! I believe that most were juveniles based on their mottled coloration. They are just insanely beautiful birds and I was thrilled to be able to get so close. The cardinals in our yard tend to stay well hidden in the trees whereas these were right out in front of me.

Here are a couple of other shots if you'd care to have a look...

Juvenile male, I think?

Male cardinal, peeking through the leaves

Dogwood in fall foliage

On the way home, I passed a pond with what appeared to be half a dozen swans. No place to pull over, but I plan to go back tomorrow and park on a side road and walk in to see if they are still there. For today, though, I am happy with my cardinals!

Hubs is still sick - I am pretty sure he has the flu and hopefully I won't get it too. Poor thing is really feeling crummy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.