Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Another gratuitous sunset...

The trouble is it's just too easy to capture sunrises and sunset at the moment, when both happen at a relatively civilised hour and the weather's so good. And in a way this is an emergency blip too...

I was so tired after yesterday that I missed sunrise completely and slept in until half-past seven. After uploading yesterday's blip and doing some chores I took the dogs to Bedford Purlieus, but when I got there found I had committed the cardinal sin of forgetting to put the SD card in the camera - and I'd taken the bag without the spare!!

To be honest there wasn't much to photograph. I had a good view of two fallow deer hinds, but I think they would have been spooked by me raising a camera...And it was hot and the light harsh, so I contented myself picking sloes instead - rather odd to be doing it in temperatures of over 25 degrees. I also found a rather slug-eaten specimen of Krombholziella quercina - a large bolete with a brick-red cap and dark fibrils on the stem - a new species to me.

I was going to do some gardening in the afternoon, but it was too hot - I found out later that the UK October record had been broken at Gravesend with a temperature of 29.9C! So instead I started sorting out Ben's bedroom.

This autumn I have plans to re-organise the house and try and catch up with some more decorating, which involves getting rid of some of our accumulated belongings and excess furniture. Two cupboards were sorted and will soon be removed, making space for his drum kit, which is currently downstairs.

As a result of my labours it got to six o'clock and I still had no blip. So I took a quick walk to Thorpe Hall to catch the sunset. I was hoping to get a silhouette of one of their old trees but that wasn't to be!

Thanks to everyone for all the lovely comments and favourites for yesterday's swan. I'm still trying to catch up with all your journals - I just don't seem to have much time at the moment!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.