Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Swan at sunrise

Although I didn't have to get up early, my body clock seems to have re-adjusted and I woke at twenty to six. I knew the day would be busy, so I got up just after six and took the dogs for their usual walk along the river.

It was incredibly peaceful - not a breath of wind and a gentle mist hanging low over the river and dewy grass. The light before sunrise was quite blue, gradually changing to a soft peach as the sun appeared. I was lucky to hear and see a kingfisher several times, and the usual herons were stalking the water's edge.

I'd been hoping to catch the sun actually rising, but the angle wasn't quite right and there were too many trees in the way.This was my first view of the sun, and it was serendipity that a swan decided to glide across the river at just the right moment.

The rest of the day was spent visiting old friends in Boston. The weather was hot and sunny, just like August, and we walked out to the marshes of the Wash, which had that special salty tang, and sat on the bank taking in all the empty space. The tide was a long way out, so the flocks of waders were very distant, but we did get some slightly closer views of a redshank and an egret.

As tea was cooking, I went for a wander round their cottage taking in the evening light across the hayfield, the strange ghostly light on the distant sea, as calm as a millpond, and watched the sun set between the trees in a fiery blaze. They really are very lucky to live in such a beautiful place.

It was so lovely to have a day to just chat to one of my closest friends - I just wish she lived a bit nearer so that we could do it more often! The evening seemed to fly by with chatter and laughter and I suddenly realized it was past ten o'clock.

To be honest I'm not entirely sure how we got home - I was so tired and had to struggle very hard to keep awake for the last twenty miles - open windows, up-beat music and pinching myself were all required! We got back safely but, needless to say, I was far too tired to upload my blip!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.