Eye wonder

By rebeccalr

Car wash

What a way to start October. A car wash in the rain.
My car is in a show tomorrow so today was a day of washing and polishing.
DH washed my car while I kept out of the rain. I have the flu so it was a good excuse to stay dry and get some computer work finished. I kept popping out for moral support of course, with the camera.
We had a bit of an adventure first though. Thought we'd use our drive through garage to take the car into the backyard for the first time so we could wash out there but the back of the garage has a step down to the lawn which we haven't done anything about yet. My car has a low front end so we had to take it very carefully using some wood for ramps. I'm a bit precious about my car so I was stressing out the whole time. It worked though. Got the car out and there's just enough room to turn the car around (8 point turn). Then I told DH to make sure he could get it back in before he started washing it. I wanted to be sure we could put it away quickly if we needed too, the sky was looking a bit hail coloured. So after turning it around it was obvious it wouldn't go back in forwards. The front is just too low and would hit before the ramps could lift the wheels. DH tried adding some more wooden planks to extend the ramps but only succeeded in flipping one up against the underside of my spoiler. I was guiding him and keeping a very close eye on things so it was just a tap. So we tried reversing into the garage, back the way it came. Logical right? but this time the exhaust was going to ram into the step before the ramps lifted it enough. After messing around adjusting the ramps we finally got it in with about 1cm clearance for the exhaust. Hair raising stuff!
So after that it was washing on the front lawn.
Then polishing and vacuuming in the garage.
I didn't have a lot of light to work with for photos so was playing with flash and wasn't going to venture out into the wet but I like the way this shot turned out. I think it's the first photo I've got that has both our cars in and I like the way the flash caught DH and his reflection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.