Watching the river flow

My drive to London went well, after an earlyish start, as did the subsequent meeting with Michael. He then fed me with tasty morsels and offered me a glass of fine white wine to tickle my palate.

Then I turned straight round and left by taking the scenic route past Oxford, which was also easy driving with classic views across the varying countryside as you proceed west away from London. I eventually stopped at Bibury, which is a regular resting point for me, to buy some fresh farmed trout. A gentle potter then followed along the river bank, after crossing the old bridge over the River Coln, next to the Swan Hotel.

The glorious sunshine was starting to set when I took the wooden footbridge back towards the car. I looked back down the river and liked the sight of the children playing in the shallow water; sometimes together, sometimes apart. This is a scene that must have occurred every year since the weavers houses on Arlington Row on the right were built in the 17th century. Usually the water is too deep and fast flowing to make paddling easy.

The small water meadow on the right bank of the river is known as Rack Island, having been used to hang the weavers cloth out to dry on racks. I thought this scene will be a good reminder of the beautiful weather and lazy summer days, which will seem so distant when winter has set in..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.