Way of Life

By wayoflife

Man

So, on with next part of my photography inspirations...

Part 5: Bernd and Hilla Becher, Typologies

Part 6: Bruce Gilden, flash street photography
This video of Gilden at work has had a massive effect on my photography and it's a video that I go back to when I need a little bit of pick-me-up. The main effect it's had is that it helped me decide on the limits that I wanted to work to when I'm out and about. On a personal comfort level I realized that I'm just not prepared to invade people's personal space like that. That's not to say that I don't like his photos, because I do, a lot, but if I was working like that it would always be a push to do something that wasn't an honest expression of what I want to capture.

On top of finding my limits, the video really showed me how to approach taking photos in the street, and this was the point at which I realized that if you want to do street photography you always have to be prepared to interact with people, because without a doubt people will approach you. Usually it's just to chat, sometimes it's an angry word or two, but you have to be prepared for this interaction. In my mind it's a give and take. If you're going to take a photo of a stranger, then they have the right to approach you and ask what you're doing.

Bonus link: For some Tokyo-based flash-in-your-face photography, check out this interview with a guy called Charlie Kirk over on Eric Kim's blog. Check the comments for some very polarized opinions on this style of photography.

Part 7: Henri Cartier-Bresson, Behind the Gare Saint-Lazare, Paris

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.