Way of Life

By wayoflife

Train station

Part 6: Bruce Gilden, flash street photography

Part 7: Henri Cartier-Bresson, Behind the Gare Saint-Lazare, Paris
I bet you were wondering how long I would go before I trotted this one out, but to be honest, I've hardly seen any photos by Cartier-Bresson. In fact, Behind the Gare Saint-Lazare is possibly the only photo of his I've seen.

What I did when I first saw this photo was imagine it as one of a series of photos all the way from the man just before jumping to a moment just after he landed. Which photos would work and which wouldn't? I tried to think about the slight differences between the frames and how those differences would affect the overall feeling of the photo. Is there a frame that is just a smidgen better than the others, and is the timing that Cartier-Bresson chose the best one? It's a thought experiment, but it's worth keeping in mind that a lot of street photography involves a lot of factors coming together at precisely the right moment to create a great photo.

Part 8: Tony Ray-Jones, The English

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.