Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

Got a handle on it...

... was a better title than 'forkin' heck'!

[finished version on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1444250]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

One of those images which you probably can't see a lot of difference between the two, but which if I hadn't edited it, it would have annoyed me hugely - because, despite my best efforts in-camera... it just wasn't straight. So, when I was processing the RAW file (where I boosted the exposure, brightness, clarity and vibrance), I used the in-built straightening tool. In Photoshop, I gave it a little crop, then used Topaz Adjust and the Spicify filter (with saturation reduced and some added noise reduction) to bring out the textures.

Finally, a little bit of dodging on the parts where the light touched the handles of the fork and the folds of the jacket, and a teensy bit of burning of the shadows next to the pegs. Then, sharpened, flattened and saved.

Tip of the Day:
Completely unrelated to today's shot - although the need to snatch a shot when you see it is sort of tied to street photography - this is an article called '10 Simple Ways to become a better street photographer' which I really liked and which when I'm feeling brave (and with someone else!), I will have a go at.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.