Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

Come and look at this!!!!

... yells Felix.

[finished version on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1442617]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

Complete rescue job of a photo today - and the end result is rather grainy as a result. The reason is that this was a candid shot of my son playing with his train track and I wanted his feet in the background of the train... but to get his feet when he was running and the light in the room wasn't brilliant - the relatively fast shutter speed meant that the image was seriously dark (actually just very underexposed!). So... it got rescued in Photoshop.

With the RAW file I boosted the exposure by +1.30, dropped the blacks to 0, upped the brightness to +83 and the fill light to 12. I also popped the clarity up by +78. In my head I was getting the shot to something that would work as a black and white so the contrast and details were important, but the effect on the colour not so much. In Photoshop, I converted it to black and white using Silver Efex Pro and then used Topaz DeNoise to get rid of as much of the grain as I could. I used a 50% grey overlay layer to dodge and burn the details - such as the train, track and socks behind... then sharpened and saved.

Tip of the Day:
If you are dealing with low light situations, I'm sure you can do a lot better than me. And this 'Low Light Photography' article will give you some inspiration and ideas for how to deal with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.