Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

Dance like nobody's watching...

... live like it's the last moment you get to be alive

[finished version on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1440037]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

This is one of those shots where I'm sure you can't tell the difference between the two. That's because a) I barely edited it and b) ah, no... a) covers it...

Taking shots into the sun like this is tricky - or at least I find it is. If you allow your camera to work out the settings for you, then you'll end up with the face completely in shadow and the background properly exposed. So, I used spot metering to lock the exposure and make sure that Maddy's face could be seen. I used a fairly wide aperture of f/3.5 because I wanted to isolate her from the background - but this still lets lots of light flood it and because it was so bright this gives the shot a kinda hazy feel to it. Plus, her hair is all backlit and I rather like that effect too!

When processing it I did very little more than just sharpen it slightly. Sometimes 'not perfect' is just the look and feel you're going for!

Tip of the day
If you want to see more about backlighting then 'Rediscovering Backlit Subjects' is a great little article to get you thinking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.