PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Fungus Fest

It's a bit of a cheat creating a composite picture, I know, but there are just soooo many fungi around. These three I've put together as I've been able to identify them with the help of my little Collins Gem Guide to Mushrooms and Toadstools. Did take several more that I can't identify, but maybe I'll return and snap them again another day.

The big one here is a Parasol Mushroom. (Its twin was growing a few feet away, horizontally, from the same dry stone wall.) The other two, on the grassy coastal path, are a puff-ball and the appropriately-named Yellow Cow-Pat Toadstool. We frequently pass bullocks grazing alongside the path.

It is fascinating seeing all these fungi pop up overnight, as if the Fungi Fairies had thrown a switch. The weather was still sunny, but windy, this morning. Then mists swathed the clifftop and it's sort of trying to rain this evening, but is still very mild. A lovely crescent moon appears and disappears as the clouds race by. The forecast warns that temperatures will drop by some 10-15 degrees centigrade before the week is out, which will come as a shock after these few days of summer temperatures.

Now where's my vest ...?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.