Ever bright and fair

By vincedesjardins

IU Cinema

I'm a little behind in my blipping. I've got a few days to catch up on. On Saturday, Mark and I did something I haven't done in years - we went to see two movies in the same day, both of them were shown here, in the Indiana University Cinema. We went to a matinee of a children's animated film from France called 'A Cat in Paris' ('Une Vie de Chat'), and then in the evening we went back to see a film titled "Circumstance," which took place in Tehran and was in Persian. The animated film was great, sort of a Hitchcock mystery/thriller for kids. So far it's only been playing at film festivals, but I hope it gets a U.S. release, or at least comes out on DVD.

'Circumstance,' was about two young women growing up in Tehran and discovering their attraction to one another. Because of the gay theme (and some nudity), I doubt this film will ever be released in Iran (apparently it was shot in Lebanon with French producers). It was a sobering look at a society living under fanatical restrictions, and what happens to those young people who try and rebel. I found the first half of the film rather slow, but it picked up in the second half. Definitely worth seeing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.