tempus fugit

By ceridwen

The wheel spins

There was time for a last ride around before leaving Philadelphia. Here is the borrowed bike that gave me mobility during my stay and with it my very dear friend and fellow blipper Guinea Pig Zero who has, as ever, been a conscientious host and (cycling) companion. The mural seemed an irresistible opportunity to mark an important day.

If I am not mistaken, this blip is my 365th, and (I hope I am not stretching the metaphor too far) the wheel of my blip year has turned full circle. For early Celtic people, and present day pagans, the rotation of the seasons was marked by a succession of festivals. For Buddhists too the symbol of the wheel represents the cyclical nature of life itself. For me, it's been a revelation, not only that I have succeeded in posting a photograph for, if not on, each day, but that so many fellow blippers have become significant and indeed valued members of a virtual community that has gained in importance over the course of the year. You know who you are, and I want to say how much I look forward to your comments and your blips, even though I often fall short in responding as frequently or as eloquently as I would wish. The daily blip provides a useful focus and discipline for someone like me and, if it sometimes seems a bit of a tyranny, I'm aiming to carry on.

Let the Spinning Wheel spin and the new blip year begin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.