The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Preening

A mute swan preens himself while floating on the River Kent in Kendal. The male is the cob, the female pen was floating next to him. Both birds were stationary in flowing water, even at those times when one foot was in the air. I didn't get the impression that there was furious paddling activity under the water either. Such elegance and grace at all times.

Which is more than can be said for the weather today. It was lucky I went for a blip walk at lunchtime, when it was overcast but still dry. For later in the afternoon, as the cloud thickened and the rain came down, the landscape and air reminded me of the post-apocalypse landscape of "On the Road" that I read earlier this year. At least the grass was still green though, even through the gloom.

I was a bit more rested today after my early night last night, no more falling asleep in meetings.

A year ago: another view of Honister Pass, this time from well above the top of the pass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.