The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Downlighting

Worth a look in large to see a few details not so obvious at this size

It was a grey, autumnal morning as I walked for the train in Arnside this morning. As I reached the Arnside Chippy there was a break in the clouds, with rays of light from the sun shafting through. In the foreground is the Arnside signal box, still in constant use and much loved by my old friend Dr T (not that he ever looks at my blips to see this, though).

Then it was another day in Crewe, being trained as an Incident Control Officer. This is when it became apparent how many plans and other procedures we don't have in place in the office, so by volunteering for this role I seem to have acquired a whole lot of unexpected work. Oh, well. When we were going through the period of redundancies earlier in the year, it seemed like a good idea to make myself as useful as possible, and I guess that remains a good policy.

In the afternoon, though, when we were talking about how to deal with bomb alerts, probably the most interesting bit of the day, I actually found myself nodding off. That's never happened before. A sign that I've been having too many late nights and early mornings, plus that yesterday was a bit of strenuous day. So it's an early night for me tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.