The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Grendel - October Origins

Meet Grendel.

I haven't worn this necklace for a very, very long time!

Back in 1987, this precocious teenager was finding his musical feet. One of my best school mates was into Prog Rock and Tangerine Dream. So my first dabblings were very much synth based. Bon Jovi - Slippery When Wet and Europe - The Final Countdown some of my first purchases.

Then a school friend, Darren Jones, played me something on his Sony Walkman. It was Metallica - Ride The Lightening. It was a real lightbulb moment! Right there and then my love of heavy metal began!

Funny how certain memories stick in your head.

My first gig was Ronnie James Dio at Newport Centre on the Dream Evil tour. I can still remember the smell! I still get as excited before a gig now as I did then! Live music never fails to excite me!

I remember getting my name read out on Tommy Vances Friday Rock Show. All my school mates names got read out! I had Saxon - Strangers In The Night dedicated to them. I was the coolest kid in school that next Monday!

When Tommy Vance died I remember thinking for the first time that a part of my growing up had died along with him!

I bought Grendel that year out of my pocket money. I never owned a denim jacket with band patches sewn on, but I had some cool Jewellery. I also had permed long hair!

I'm 40 now, and I still make the walls shake with loud music. I still love hearing new thrash metal. There are some kids out there that still kick serious ass! Evile being one of my favourite new thrash bands. Machine Head and Lamb of God have blown me away in the past few years!

I still have time for Tangerine Dream though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.