Framing the Fort

By TheHairyCoo

Chinese Lanterns

Tonight was a little unexpected.

I took my daughter, the lovely Miss Geek, to Rainbows (the precursor to Brownies). They meet at a school, and it was Open Night, so they were going for a walk to the play park & thence to the Golden Arches for an ice-cream to celebrate 2 of the older girls moving up to Brownies.

But the leader (usually hyper-organised) hadn't arranged a helper. And all of the mums dropping off their daughters had plans.

So she was going to be walking with 7 hyper-excited wee girls, walking alongside a busy main road.

So I volunteered (I was a little miffed she wasn't asking myself or the other Dad who was there...but when she accepted with surprised alacrity, I realised she'd never had a Dad volunteer before). I had a lovely 40 minutes with them before her daughter arrived to let me get back to the car.

As I came back, I passed a Chinese takeaway, the Peony House. Although the food is so-so, it always looks inviting because of the warm oranges, reds and yellows of the colour scheme, accentuated by these lovely Chinese lanterns. After I'd finished snapping, I looked up to see the amusedly bemused expression of the counter staff, clearly wondering why this big eejit was taking pictures of their window.

This is becoming a recurring theme... ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.