Rainbow

I arrived home safely and headed out to meet J for a chat in the land of voles. However, the voles were as elusive as ever so I wasn't lucky this time. Instead, I snapped the feathers of a comb duck who was posing beside a multitude of teal. J and I had a great discussion about our exciting project over much tea and a bit of cake.

In the evening, I went with Fred to see President Jimmy Carter being interviewed by Jon Snow. President Carter is one of the most inspirational people I have heard speak. He does great work with the Carter Centre and is hoping to eradicate the awful disease of guinea worm before his 90th birthday in three years' time (he looks amazing for 87!) When the campaign started in 1986, there were 3.5 million cases of guinea worm. Now there are less than 2,000 cases per year. Incredible. Read more about it here.

He had plenty to say about world affairs, too, which was extremely insightful.

The discussion was filmed by the BBC World Service, but I don't know when or where it will be broadcast. I will look out for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.