Wisdom Begins In Wonder

By bobzilla

Steps forward

Four years ago I went into A&E with chest pains and the very next day I was discharged after being diagnosed as having pericarditis. I was assured that after two weeks I'd be as right as rain and back at work.

Five months later I started work again on a reduced workload and ever since then I've still had the chest pains and problems breathing every so often. I've been up to A&E a few times since then and despite ECG's, echoes and multiple doctors looking at me they've just said "Well you're not dying so go home". It's took until today before I could get a consultant to look at me in any capacity other than to see if it was safe for me to go home and free up a bed.

This doctor actually seems to want to get to the bottom of things so I'm in line for some fancy MRI scan and finally I've been given some medication that's a bit better for me than "one ibuprofen when it gets a bit sore".

I also got to mingle with some ex-coworkers on the train home. Strange seeing all those faces again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.