Purple Magpie

By PurpleMagpie

Finally!

I have been singing barbershop for nearly two years. Something about the sound captivated me. It often reduces me to tears when I am singing on the risers.

Barbershop is unique in it's formation. It is four part harmony, the four parts are Bass, Baritone, Lead and Tenor. Each part has it's own unique characteristics. I sing lead which means I carry the melody. The melody is usually sung in the second line down. This formation and the volume levels of each part and vowel matching creates a cone of sound and this creates very strong undertones and overtones which are a dream to hear.

Anyway I have been trying to arrange a barbershop song for twelve months. Always the same song and it's been frustrating at times.

Then DH bought us an IPAD2 and I downloaded symphony pro and finally with the right tools I have written one that works!

I rehearsed with my lovely quartet ladies yesterday and we sang the first line and it worked!!!! It worked!!!!!! I am so excited!!!!! I am so pleased.

So here is a shot of my arrangement on the IPAD2. I messed with it a little as music is as old as time but here it is in the here and now. I need to transpose the two lines on the bass clef before I print the score and there are a few bum notes that I am messing with but yay!

It's also a little tribute to Steve Jobs as without his clever technology then I probably would be still banging my head on the piano.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.