Jess & Molly Law

By jml

Farewell ... and Hail!

I stayed behind as Molly & Jess headed along the beach. It was my job to visit the excellent fish shack by Lower Largo beach and stock up our supplies of salmon and haddock.

As they disappeared into the distance, Molly kept looking back, hoping that I would join them. Eventually, however, she was in danger of losing sight of the others as they rounded a bend. Ideally, she would like to find a point from which she could keep us all in view at once (there's the herding instinct coming out). She decided to continue with the walk.

After buying the fish, I sat down on a bench to do the sudoku. In due course, I could see the explorers returning. Molly also caught sight of me from a long way away, and came running at full tilt to greet me. It's nice to feel wanted.

This morning, the choices were slightly different. We lay in for longer than we usually do. Eventually, I got up to go downstairs and feed the puppies. Molly had been waiting for me to make a move - she shot past me and into the vacant spot on the bed! But I soon gave her something to think about. As I walked down the stairs, I simply shouted "Breakfast, Molly". Immediately she was racing me to the kitchen and she sat by my side as I got things ready.

To misquote the advert. : "Mummy or chips?" - for Molly, it is no choice at all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.