earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Taking a Moment

An expansive moment (take one yourself)

Ok, I know we've been here a few times already (most recently in Spoilt for Choice), but this is another different angle and a very special light. I felt rough this morning after a late night working with my sleep again being disturbed by this persistent cough (trying your remedies, but so far to no avail), so I took a walk up to White Wells before heading into the office. My design decision over this new interface was presenting a few unexpected difficulties and I needed to be absolutely sure I was on the right track before committing time to solving them. It felt good to heed my own advice and take a moment to pause before starting another long day at the computer, and it wasn't long before everything started to fit into place. Why did I not decide to do this earlier yesterday evening and save myself a few hours of hitting the head against a brick wall? Doh!

Finally, a bit of trumpet blowing. A little while back my software was nominated for a HSJ (Health Service Journal) award (apparently quite prestigious) and actually made the final shortlist of six from an entry of over one hundred. Today was the presentation before the judging panel. I wasn't attending myself because that kind of thing is not really my bag, and also because there is no spare time at the moment, but my business partner did his stuff, which he is very good at, and the clients who commissioned the application in the first place apparently did us proud. We find out in November at one of those fancy black-tie affairs in London (The Grosvenor House Hotel on Park Lane indeed) whether we have won or not. Do you think I should go? I don't even own a black tie!

It's the final push for me this weekend in order to get this new interface finally sorted. Hopefully by close of play on Monday I will have seen the back of this cold, completed a successful demonstration, and be ready to lead a more social blip life. Thanks all for continuing to drop by. You are stars!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.