All Change

I wanted to take pictures yesterday but my right eye, the eye to which I invariably place my camera, was sore and kept watering. It seems OK again now but I haven't had a chance to be out and about.

One thing I did do yesterday was change the settings on both my Pentax K-x bodies to shoot in RAW from now on. I realized I invariably applied some post processing to my images anyway so I might as well. I have dabbled before but I intend to keep these settings in place for awhile to see how I get on.

There has been a definite change in the weather over the last couple of days, so marked that Smokey has changed his routine of being out all day, all the time, and just coming in for breakfast or the occasional visit to the milk and bikkie bowls. Instead he has found a new spot to reside in the small bedroom, different to all the official sites he has previously favoured, and spends most of the day there.

It is a dark, shady corner and I had to use the camera's flash. It may not have been the perfect setting to try out RAW as the unprocessed image had a marked red cast and quite a lot of digital noise. The free software I use is fairly basic and doesn't involve curves or auto white balance correction and I'm not entirely pleased with the result. I suspect a JPEG might have produced better results from the in camera processing than I have managed, but I shall persevere.

Blip #529
Consecutive Blip #000
Day #562

Lens: Pentax 18-55mm

1 year ago: Crunchy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.