Joshua Trees

Well, when you come to Joshua Tree National Park, you simply can't miss them. They are everywhere! And so cool. And of course I'd have to like them anyway, because they are remarkably similar in many ways to Cabbage Trees.

So, as the campgrounds inside the park are mostly fist come first served, and with around 4 million people just 2 hours away, and only around 400 campsites total in the park, I thought I'd better get in quick, So I did, and based on some advice from a ranger I headed to the Belle campground, just 18 sites. Brilliant spot and I got a great site; backed into some rocks and overlooking nothing but derst.

And then I explored, and explore I did. Drove, walked, photographed; I saw a good part of the park. And it's great, so so different to New Zealand. Beautiful colours and such a stark contrast. Loved it.

Got back to camp around 5pm, in time for a cold beer (I bought some ice) and to watch the sun set. And surprisingly, the last campsite didn't go until 6.30pm. Just what do all those people in LA do in their weekends? Shop I guess.

So yep, a good night. Made even better by a large family on an adjacent site who were playing the guitar and singing songs. A perfect desert experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.