Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Soft Moonlight Soothed

"The soft moonlight soothed, and the wide expanse without gave a sense of freedom which refreshed me."

- Bram Stoker's Dracula


I was going to blip a picture of my kids today, but then in the evening, towards sunset, my son pointed out the nearly full Moon. I asked him if he wanted to come outside with me and "help" me take a photo of it - which he did with enthusiasm.

I cropped it to 3:2 and enlarged a bit, but kept a bit of tree in the bottom in an attempt to anchor it a bit. I sharpened the Moon, and applied an S to the luminance curve. That was a real pig: I brushed it on to the Moon as I normally would, but the lower edge was obvious, and made the Moon look cut out/stuck on. I tried reducing the brush's opacity as I got to the edge, and feathering the mask ... Still too obvious. Finally I decided to use the colour range tool to apply the mask.... Job done in seconds. ;-)

I actually framed today in photos. I started with the sunrise, and finished with the Moon just before sunset. 8)

Lumix DMC-G10 : f/5.60 : 1/640" : 200mm : ISO 100

Large version here.

Tweaked in Filterstorm Pro, and uploaded with Blipfoto iPhone app.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.