Beech

Heavy rain in the night and guess what, more fog and drizzle today. It's mild and humid and I went for a soggy stroll down to the sea. A man was shrimping in a bright yellow windcheater and bare legs. On to the river which was flowing fast and full of beech leaves. I waded up and down stream for a little while. Son number 1 says this is one of his favourite activities and I can see why, it is strangely satisfying. This is the old ford into the village and a very pretty spot.

I have a new winter project. I seem to have blipped so many old and decaying buildings in the area I may as well do it properly. I think I'm going to compile an illustrated inventory of things I find interesting on the peninsula, especially things that are in danger of disappearing from nature or neglect. I'm going to add it to Himself's Sheepsheadroutes site and it will include all sorts of things from standing stones to ringforts to castles. I like the way friedaquilter is recording all the old gravestones in her West Linton blog. Will let you know when there's anything to see.

Tonight we're off to a farewell party for Dorianne, a lovely French wwoofer who has been staying with travellersjoy for nearly a year now. We shall all miss her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.