W8man on the Web

By w8man

A single day.

So here's Father and Son everyone. The proud looking Dad on the left is 13,789 days old, or 37 years 9 months and 2 days. The baby on the right, just a single day...

As I write this, thinking about what's happened. I'll remember today as being another eventful roller coaster ride. A phone call in the middle of the night, chats with clever looking doctors in cheap looking green overalls, repeated conversations to keep everyone posted, electronic beeps and pip noises, a kind auxiliary nurse who fed Dad breakfast when she shouldn't have :-) and a doctor who walked in on Mum and Dad fast asleep on a bed.....

Nothing remotely run of the mill for Mum or Dad, but for those working around us quite probably a perfectly normal day.

I drank more cheap tasting coffee from a machine.

I heard a woman scream as if in a torture chamber, then she stopped. Immediately afterward a baby started to cry. If you'd heard it in a movie you'd think it sounded just too fake to be true.

I remembered how lucky we were.

ohh and I spent time holding our son, here's the evidence.

This picture was taken just after I'd explained to him about girls, which football team he'll support and the best way to hide that dimple on his chin when he is older (do exactly as his old man). He slept through our chat, but I know he was listening.

Tomorrow's another day to look forward to as we edge closer to our departure and a return home.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.