Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Lizard

Back to the grove again. No company today apart from the security guy who popped around to see what I was up to, but he soon departed when he saw me huddled over the tripod trying to out stare a twig.

Not too many green bees around, so I decided to take advantage of the solitude and explore the many rustling sounds that occur during the quieter periods. I had seen glimpses of lizards and thought it time to make an effort to blip one.

I had located I kind of nest, a shaped tube of debris disappearing into the undergrowth. I thought that might be a good place to setup the tripod. There were two problems with this plan: Firstly it would require the lizard to stop exactly with its head in the focal plane. Secondly, the lizards are upto a foot long and framing decisions have to be made.

I have tried removing the camera from the tripod to capture one in days gone past, but it takes too long and makes too much disturbance. So I decided to hold the camera and wait, snapping at anything else that comes along in the mean time.

After about ten minutes of stillness the action starts. I am not sure how many lizards are nested in this rubbish pile, but I would estimate at least half a dozen. The above passed through the undergrowth right in front of me and allowed me five shots, each time leaning in closer. A successful blip shot in the bag.

I then saw a larger, fatter lizard, but about six feet away. The shot was never going to compete with what I already had, so I just relaxed and observed. It seemed to be interested in a large flying insect. What an amazing sight, the insect got spooked and took off, the lizard leapt into the air in a failed attempt to catch it. Even blurred, that would be an impressive blip, flash might help nail it. I'll be keeping an eye out for that one in the future.

Blip is bringing out the ten year old in me, I am so enjoying myself, rediscovering lizards, hoppers, butterflies, weird insects, but still no spiders or snakes.

Update - Takydromus sexlineatus Asian grass or six striped long tailed lizard.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.