Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

White butterfly

Back in the grove on a bright day. Because of the sun, I had set up for the green bee hunt, with a fast shutter speed which compromised depth of field with a fairly wide aperture. I was not getting anywhere with the green bee and I had sat up straight for a minute to relieve my back. This butterfly just hit my bloom totally out of the blue. I managed to reach the shutter release a split second before it departed. F11 would have been nice, but I am very happy with the outcome of this fairly impromptu shot.

There are quite a few of these white butterflies around, but I have not managed to get closer than ten feet before. A large green hawk winged butterfly with a black lattice pattern came by. I followed it around for a few minutes, but it never settled on a bloom for more than two seconds so I was unable to focus fast enough. Also while feeding, it kept its wings fluttering, so a successful capture was unlikely. Who needs decisions lake that anyway, with the white already in the bag.

Update - failed to identify conclusively, but appears to be family White Pierinae.

Flower - Aystasia gangetica, creeping foxglove.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.