Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Sea, Dogs & Pals.......

My sister said in the comments for yesterday's blip that it was quite a change for me - no sea and no dog.

I return to my usual blip today!

Bob and I went out to Udrigle to visit Iseabail, and while her son Alasdair did some bodywrok on my car, we had a fantastic walk. It was just up the hill behind her house, but what a fantastic all round view from the top; you can see the Summer Isle and Achiltibuie in this shot.

I have mixed feelings about cairns at the top of hills at the best of times. I like when cairns are used to show the way, especially when there is no defined path. But, I think I am with Cameron MacNeish on this one. Why does man have to feel it is necessary to put their stamp on a piece of wilderness? Stop it!!

The cairn at the top of this hill was even more of a blot on the landscape than normal, because someone had draped it with a Tibetan prayer banner-thing. They had even put steel pegs into the rocks to make sure no-one is able to remove it.

Why?

Bob's comment was that maybe the Dahli Lama had gotten fed up with Gordon Brown and decided on a wee bit of hill walking.........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.