Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

From The Top!!!

So, after my Friday success on the bus, I got a bit carried away today! Not only did I get the bus into town in the morning (and, consequently, spent nearly an hour doing maths questions in college before class - which rather surprised my English teaching colleagues, who all thought I must be finishing my assignment about teaching reading, then, when they looked to see what I was writing, saw me finding generators for cyclic groups and playing around with complex numbers!!!), but I also got the bus back to the car after college!

On the way back I even went upstairs. I never used to go upstairs on buses, partly because when I was young the upstairs was the smoking deck and I hate the smell of smoke, and partly because I always thought they were places where you might get murdered or something.

Anyway, this upstairs was jolly nice, and had a very fine view - I went right at the front and rode behind the ears!

College was fun this morning - we learned all about phonemic symbols (which we have to learn), then had a short grammar lesson on past tenses, then a session on classroom management (entirely unlike school classroom management - which generally means "crowd control", this stuff is more to do with phrasing questions and when to watch students, where from, and so on).

Then we had "guided lesson preparation", but I'd done as much as I needed already so I left a bit early and got the bus!

Once home I did a few more hours work on maths, although was too tired to do a whole past paper. I'll perhaps do a bit this evening, then a bit in the morning, before the exam tomorrow afternoon. I haven't done as much work as I'd have liked, but considering that I've spent some of this year ill, most of it sorting some sort of career out, and the last few weeks giving lots of energy to MiL, FiL and the Wonderspouse, I'll be happy with just a reasonable pass.

Anyway, it's now dark, and I must go and let the assembled company of felines in. The Wonderspouse isn't home yet, so I'll have to handle the hungry mob unassisted! Bless them - meeows and ears and tails everywhere!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.