Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Shorter Dictionary

If this is the shorter one, I'm glad I don't have to carry the longer one!

We have to do all this stuff with phonemic symbols for the CELTA course, and my dictionary doesn't have that sort of stuff in - I've never had cause to need it before, so it really hasn't worried me!

However, the Wonderspouse's dictionary, which you see here, does have the symbols, and much more besides! He won this 2 volume dictionary, along with his teapot, when he was on Countdown many years ago. He was there for about a week in total, and when he came home he had to lug these two volumes on a series of buses, from Headingley in Leeds, where the show is filmed, back to Oxford, where he was living.

Today I'm much less tired, having rested yesterday. So far I've:
1. Been through the jobs lists and sorted out the order of urgency
2. Done my accounts and paid a couple of rather urgent bills
3. Given the rat cage a medium clean - full one will have to wait
4. Sorted what handouts and overheads I'll need for Wednesday

and now, I have to:
5. Finish my written assignment on reading styles (for tomorrow)
6. Do as much maths exam revision as possible (for Tuesday)

I think I shall get the bus in and back tomorrow in order to free up as much time and energy as possible. I've also shelved all attempts to lose weight for now - simply can't manage that too. It'll only be for a few days, since things should ease up again soon, but I simply can't do everything at once. The laundry has also ground to a halt again, so we may end up wearing strange stuff soon.

And now back to work. The Wonderspouse is utterly exhausted and has been asleep on the sofa most of the day. Ratties and catties are also asleep, so it's a fairly peaceful working atmosphere. Just need to make sure I don't join the rest of the family in the land of nod.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.