Northern Exposure

By Northern

Groover

So this is the last of the fab four that you have to meet. Called Groover because even as an egg she (he?) liked to dance about.

Definitely the most social of the bunch, jumps up on your knee at any chance she gets. Then can't sit still and falls off.

I got to babysit the ducklings for an hour or so while the boys were away at their pals house this afternoon. Well, I say babysit, but really they just needed to get out in the garden for a bit as we had been out most of the day.

My plan was I would sit quietly drinking coffee and reading my book whilst the ducklings explored their surroundings and looked sweet.

Erh... didn't quite work out that way.

I got my blanket placed in a sunny spot out of the wind, my coffee made, my book open and the ducklings placed. The ducklings checked out the grass, the daisies, the wall, the plants... and then decided I and my book were far more interesting.

They jumped on me, they nibbled my toes, they crapped on my blanket (all of them), they sat on my book, hid in my shoes and they almost knocked over my coffee! I gave up on the book. Drank the coffee and had the mad idea I would have a wee snooze and they would all do the same.

They did.... first they slept beside me, then on my arm, then on my shoulder, then under my chin, then on my head. In the process they nibbled my ears, pecked at my sunglasses and stuck their beaks up my nose.

Eventually they all curled up under my chin like some mad fluffy scarf and slept.



Thanks to Hope and her Girls for naming the last hatched duckling MUDDLE. Perfect!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.