Robin at large

By Robin

Aberdeen Beach and Port Authority building

Went for a walk on the beach this evening. It was quiet apart from several people out walking their dogs. It was starting to get dark and cool when I returned to the car for some warmth.

I met a gentleman walking his dog who asked me if I could see a submarine passing the port on the surface. I am not sure if it was a submarine, but certainly it looked very low on the horizon, He stopped to chat for a while, and his dog got bored and settled down for a snooze on the sand.

He was looking for pieces of glass washed up onto the beach, and showed me some pieces he had found. I got the impression he was interested in more or less anything washed up onto the beach.

He said he was unemployed and on the dole. The dog was quite large, and he agreed the dog's appetite made quite a hole in his finances. Despite being unemployed he seemed fairly settled in life, possibly with the help of the dog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.