Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Mystery Solved

Back when I first learned a bit more about ghostsigns, the first one that I spotted in Bradford was this rather grimy and illegible example on Godwin Street.

Six months later, I happened to walking up a street to the rear of Godwin Street, and spotted this 'delivery' ghostsign, which apart from being the second example that I'd noticed in the city within the past couple of weeks, seemed to solve at least part of the puzzle. What I had orginally decoded at "Sutcliffe and Sons", now seems clearly to be "Hinchliffe and Sons", given that the signs lead into the same courtyard. While I still haven't made out all of the original sign, I at least have a good lead to start looking up in the old commercial directories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.