Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Tawny Grisette

First the bad news - I got my foot stuck in a tree root and wrenched my knee. I thought I'd be able to walk it off but after a couple of hours had to admit it was getting worse rather than better. The good news is that because I was walking more slowly and watching the ground carefully I spotted this rather nice immature Tawny Grisette which I might otherwise have missed. This is another common fungi from the amanita family but unlike most of the others it has no ring. The immature fungi has this ''ovoid' shaped cap with its characteristic grooved edge; as it matures the cap becomes flatter.

I now have one knee the size of a grapefruit. I fear that tomorrow's blip may have to be something indoors!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.