Northern Star

By Lifferz

....and all because I have boobs!

I have bought a party dress for the first time in years to wear for my birthday and to wear atthe IAMX concert in London tomorrow night (have I mentioned them before!!!)

Sadly although I adore it ...it doesn't fit...it is a size 16 which is the biggest they do...I am a size 14. It is a bit loose on the old tummy area but because I have boobs it won't fit round my top half there is a massive gap where the side zip just wont zip up. I am awful at needlework and spent 4 hours of my weekend incorporating a panel made from a black pillowcase into the side of the dress. I then put velco on it which took ages and ages to sow. It looks ok/poor but better than it did.

My partner has arrived home just now and said it looks awful :-( he's pretty frank about stuff and was quite critical about how I had gone about it- the thing is I am useless with this sort of stuff. I actually got banned from using the sewing machines at school after bending a few needles!

The only upside is my partner's mother used to design and make costumes for the BBC and he has picked up some tips from her. He now has the dress on his knees and told me he is going to take the "useless" velcro off and put some hook and eye fastenings down the gap....result!!!! I suspect that this labour may be my birthday present but who cares...tomorrow night I will be in London and I WILL be dancing in my dress....having a ball in my own little IAMX world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.