Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Soaring...

Unlike this soaring buzzard, I'm feeling a bit bogged down at the moment - and photography and blipping aren't really getting the attention they deserve. I'm aware that I'm just not really getting around to commenting, but at the moment I don't have the time or the headspace...

Pete went off to Leeds this morning, and it's only when he's not here that I realise quite how many little things he does around the house. Offspring and pets seem to have occupied most of my day, and I've achieved virtually no report writing or decorating. But tomorrow's another day....

I managed to make time to take the dogs for a decent walk at Old Sulehay Forest, though I was shocked at how dry everything is. This time last year the forest was filled with fungi - boletes, puffballs and all sorts of mushrooms - and the adjacent calcareous grassland had a fine display of waxcaps in reds and yellows. Today I saw three miserable dried up fungi, despite looking very hard. And the shallow lakes in the quarry next door had completely dried up...something I've not seen in over twenty-five years.

I think we could do with some of that northern rain, though looking outside I think it might just have arrived!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.