Twenty-something

By CJLucas

Competitive baking!

I don't normally partake in competitive baking - i define bake sales as this - where subtextually you are competing with the other bakers for the most impressive cake on display. It is this i have issues this, not fundraising.
I generally find these events mostly humiliating, no matter what I do, my cakes - whilst very tasty - are always last to sell! Once for a Halloween bake sale at a new job, I made victoria sponge cupcakes and put pumpkin faces on them (orange icing and black-lined faces). I learnt my error when my boss bought several at the end of the day out of sympathy. Somehow others' cakes are always professionally rustic and sell like hot cakes!
Anyway, seeing as the cause was Macmillan Cancer Support I participated once again and made my first gluten-free cakes: carrot and raisin cupcakes with orange zest icing. They were delicious and yes, there was a disproportionate number left for the reduced sale at the end of the day but I'm pleased with my venture into gluten-free baking regardless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.