River Rage

Looks dead calm and peaceful down the Shore in Alloa this evening. And it was. Until the reactionary neanderthal calling himself the 'pier master' started hurling abuse at me.

What with all the media coverage surrounding taking pictures in public/private places this week it turns out these cameras we carry around with us may be dangerous weapons after all. It's the only reason I can think of why the blue-overalled man-with-no-name tourettes sufferer down in the boat yard here kicked off this evening.

I've taken literally hundreds of photos down this way, as have other local blippers, and it was through some of these photographs I'd been tracked down by Riverman and invited a couple of times out on the boat he keeps down there (as other blippers have too). He's a true gentleman and we've been in the boat yard a few times to speak to him and some of the other guys down there before, but today, just after I'd stepped through the gate to try and get a shot of this view but with the nice wooden bench that's in there in the foreground I got shouted at from a nearby boat. I was going to ignore him but instead walked over to see what he wanted. He asked what I was doing (big Canon in hand, thought that might've been a giveaway) and after I said I was down taking some photos I was told I had no f*cking right being in there. Taken a wee bit a back by this I asked who he was only to be countered by a "..and who the f*ck are you?" So, I gave him my name, and asked who I should speak to about taking some shots and he said "Well, I'm the only one in here just now so that would be me". I asked if it was OK then and he went off on one and started making his way towards me with his angle grinder in hand, muttering something about being the pier master but refusing to give me his name when asked.

Anyway, I headed back through the gate I'd just come through (no signs saying 'Private', 'No Public Entry' or anything that would indicate we'd need special permission to be in there) without taking any photos. I'd hate to think that would've been the same reaction I'd've got if I'd been a visitor from outside the area taking a wander down by the shore, or if I'd had Euan with me like other times I've been in there. It's a sad state of affairs when simply trying to take a photo, and maybe help keep a visual record of a once booming industry in your home town, turns into a swearing match.

I've had a quick look to see if I can find out if there is indeed a 'Harbour' Master down in Alloa, just so I can drop a quick note to thank him for his warm welcome, but I couldn't find anything. I've a feeling he may have been telling a wee white lie about that anyhow; if not, then it's a real worry if he is the professional face of the harbour down in Alloa.

Whatever the case may be, there's some really angry people out there just now.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.