Hon in Edinburgh

By honined

Sophie

I had a surprisingly productive day and managed to take three portraits that I could have submitted here. Choosing between them was pretty tough, in that I liked them for different reasons and not necessarily for photographic ones (e.g., one of the subjects was really nice and chatty to me). I've settled on this one because I was consciously experimenting with the background composition, and is probably the better photograph to show.

This was taken on the Leith Street Bridge in Edinburgh, which I'm sure is already well represented in this site; I've definitely seen it in a photography magazine once. The girl was eating a snack with her male companion and everything just shouted at me to take her portrait: the light, the bridge, and her beautiful hair. Fortunately she said yes, and her companion didn't object either - though I had to nearly push him off the bridge to get the angle I wanted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.