Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Nelson and the Olympic counter

London is always rich with photo-opportunities. So why did I miss them today? We ended up being in a bit of a rush and frankly I was void of ideas. The best pictures were all people pictures but if I'm honest I don't have the balls to take those pictures - too much the introvert. Oh I can do portraits, but candid shots? I just can't do it, or simply don't want to do it even when I know there's an arresting photograph, too afraid of offending people. Maybe that's why in journalism I was always the guy with the notebook.

So I can tell you now that most of my blipfotos will be of things or nature or scenes or shapes, always avoiding the best subjects of all - people.

This one is typical. Trafalgar Square was teaming with people, virtually all tourists. They were parked on the stonework around the foot of Nelson's column and sitting astride Edwin Landseer's bronze lions. There's no respect and I agree with this suggestion that they should be kept off them. I hate that ghastly logo. I'm sure Nelson has no time for it either, or the tourists. I'm with him all the way.

We headed up to the Royal Geographical Society for an Earthwatch debate on environmental priorities. It was a bit depressing. Let's not mince words here. We're wrecking our planet. There are just too many of us and our resources are not going to last. We know it and yet we stick our heads in the sand.

The most telling stuff came from Prof Tim Lang who has been tasked with trying to come up with a sustainable diet - not easy. Eating rice isn't the answer. Rice crop use masses of fresh water while half the cereal we produce is used to feed livestock, so we really need to eat less meat. So that's a start. I think we'll shift to meat once a week and do veg the rest of the time. Yes we can do that, except we need to think about dairy products too and I've just had a glass of milk. No it won't be easy. I like my cheese.

Oh and that Olympic counter: 321 days to go. Yes I have tickets for the mens' 100m final. I'll probably blow that picture too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.