Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Chestnut leaves and Sir Walter Raleigh's head

OK, I know, what did you expect - a skull on a spike? What a beautiful day for a walk and who better to walk with than a bunch of old Financial Times colleagues. There were so many possible Blips, the sunny lunch with gleaming pints of ale, the Lovelace Bridges, a wonderful old lurcher and the fattest acorns I've ever seen. I must admit I'm a sucker for the translucent leaf pic and I like the way this showcased the old and the the still green side-by-side in a sweet chestnut grove near West Horsley, Surrey.

That's where Sir Walter Raleigh's head comes in to the frame - or not, since it's buried out of sight. I've told the story here in as much detail as I can muster for a blog - a must read for anyone who can remember Ladybird Books.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.