The second half of life..

By twigs

Hang on there........

Was abruptly awoken from a good sleep at 7.00 this morning by a call from a local school asking if I was available for a day's relief.

No worries at all - though it was very hard getting out of bed when the temperature was below zero outside (and not very much above zero inside either! Such are the joys of living in an old house!!)

Had a very good day which included an extra long lunch as there was no class to cover straight after the lunch break. Spent a relaxing time in a cafe in town reading.......it felt wonderful to do this with no feelings of guilt whatsoever!!

I meandered my way home via town again then via the waterfront where the sunset was again stunning. Is it always like this or is it that I'm just noticing more???

I love this waterfront statue - but having now come to write something I realise I actually don't know very much about it :( I think it's a memorial to the fishermen of the region who've lost their lives (or who risk their lives) at sea.......(make mental note to find out.)

UPDATE: This is the Seafarer's Memorial at Sunderland Marine Pier in Nelson. The poem inscribed on it is a dedication to the seafarers of the region.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.