Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

...For a Knave

I'm trying to find some positives in a day which got off to the wrong start thanks to a knave of a referee, Alain Rolland. As with all Welsh people I was optimistic that we would be heading to our first World Cup final in New Zealand, but one erroneous decision early in the game effectively eneded that. Of course we had hope and opportunity to overcome adversity, but it wasn't to be.

The sun was shining though, and then a Red Kite flew over the garden, the first time I've seen that happen since we've been here, as we lie a bit beyond the usual range of the Otley Chevin kites. I wasn't quick enough for a great picture, but managed a shot for the record.

Then the butterflies started coming out, with one each of a Small Tortoiseshell, Speckled Wood and Peacock visiting the garden. The Peacock seemed to be investigating nooks and crannies for hibernation potential.

And finally, I saw a falcon swoop in off the moor into our Sycamore tree. Trying to get a better view, I spooked it down to the next tree along the moor edge (most recently featured in Bleeding into Autumn) , where I managed to sneak this long shot before it was off again. I'm almost certain this is a Kestrel (check in large, if you like), and so not as exciting as Phil's Merlin, but it's the best image of one that I've managed so far. I've taken better pictures today, but this is the one least likely to happen again, so here you go.

a kestrel ~ perched ~ head turning view

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.