Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Bright-eyed and Slim

This is the best ghost sign I've seen in a while, and although it had been restored in the eighties, it's starting to fade again, which adds to the charm.

I was in York for a meeting, and made a few detours on the way from and to the station. This sign is on the inner ring road, which hugs the outer boundary of the city wall, so I expect it's quite a York landmark. I missed it at first as I was walking from the other direction, but caught it on my way back after a quick diversion up Monk Gate.

Bile beans were a popular remedy, originally invented in Australia. Perhaps you remember them?

Filed under ghost signs and York blips.

in the city
of the white rose
and crossed keys
a remedy
remembered


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.