Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Cracket

Apologies for the functional blip. This is my cracket. I read an american book about tools and toolboxes which extoled the virtues of a Cracket. Basically a simple stool as used by miners, farmers, shepherds etc with the void below the seat utilised for carrying tools.

I made mine, as is traditional, out of scrap wood. For the tools I used one of those multifunction plastic tool storage shelves with loads of different shaped holes for hanging things. There is a tray below for stuff and I hang three saws on the other side. The top folds down for me to sit or stand on. I fitted a shoulder strap for carrying it.

To the front is my power cable. The shop bought extension cables involve pluging one end in and have to carry a huge reel of cable to the job or up a ladder or something. Making my own out of a couple of plywood disks glued onto a lazy susan means I can reverse engineer the thing and plug the coil into the mains then carry the (very small and light) socket outlets to the job.

Back to the Cracket. Whilst making this, I sat on a bunch of different chairs to decide the height, then chose other proportions based on how proportions looked. Tip the object on it's side and it's proportions very similar to a wicket. I leave you to draw your own conclusions.

Hopefully I will have the boiler up and running tommorrow. In which case - it will be back to arty farty blips again.

Hope you are all having a nice weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.