Purple Magpie

By PurpleMagpie

Rubbish picture but successful day

I was singing at a wedding today. Two songs a musical theatre number and a hymn. All good, all good, except I awoke at 4am in the morning with no voice!

Now I am one to dramatise and over-exagerrate at times I am sure but genuinely I had no voice. Just a croak. I was devestated and not looking forward to phoning a bride and groom on the morning of their wedding to croak ...sorry.......but.....

Anyway I googled and most sites told you not to sing. However I came across one who basically said...when I was poor and had a cold I still had to sing...and this is how.

So I started with his tips and tricks and slowly started gaining my voice back, both high and low registers. I went to bed an hour later, woke up at seven and started again. I was even humming and vocalising while taking my children for their swimming lessons. Thankfully I got to the church on time, sang my songs, got a great round of applause and came home. I am going to email the man in a bit and say thank you. His website was invaluable.

We then went wedding shopping for my nieces wedding in three weeks. We had to buy an emergency bridesmaid dress for my daughter as hers no longer fits eeekkk!!!! Anyway it was successful and while there I found this gorgeous purple shrug. I love purple. It is the colour of my soul. I decided that in light of my successful wedding sing and just generally life being good that I should have it. So here it is ...I am wearing it to the wedding, with an aqua blue vintage style dress and a matching fascinator. It looks very stand out in the crowd but I am not a particularly shy person (thats probably an understatement) that I really dont care.

Anyway so the long and short of this is that I sang, life was good, I saw something purple and thought why not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.