Jack James

By JackJames

Allermuir hill, Pentlands

Woke up bright and early for a cycle to the Pentland hills, about 5 miles to the south of where I live. After getting ready and going down to my bike, I realised that I'd left my keys for the lock round at my friends house - so I couldn't use it.
So, the result of a fruitless search for my spare key was stealing my flatmates bike, as I couldn't bare to not get out in the autumn sun on the only day I've got free.

When I arrived, the lack of lock meant that I had to cycle all the way to the top - a height of 493m, on Allermuir hill. The views were amazing - Arthur's seat, which dominates Edinburgh's skyline, looked tiny from where I stood. The wind was awesome, and I could lean into it from on top of the trigpoint where I stood. The journey down was fun, if not a little dodgy - the brakes weren't fantastic, and the lack of suspension has resulted in some painful hands! 360 degree video of the view here, and one showing the wind here!

Apologies for the awful photomerge - I don't have Photoshop or anything on the computer so I had to make do with Picasa, and as my cameraphone can't hold light settings the exposures are off a bit, but it gives a good impression of the views to the SW of Allermuir.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.